The Roman games

The Roman games are very interesting too me as it is fascinating to know that a culture watched people get killed by animals or other people for fun. The games started when the Roman king Lucius Tarquinius Priscus built the Circus Maximus where chariot and horse races were held. After that the Coliseum was built, and this was where the most well known games took place. The games held in the Coliseum were the games where gladiators fought and hunted wild animals.

The games in the Coliseum were split into two parts the morning games and the afternoon games. The morning games were where gladiators would fight wild animals or wild animals would kill a criminal instead. The afternoon games were the games most people know about, the fight of two gladiators to the death. There were four main types of gladiator but 25 in all. The four main types are: Samnite, Thracian, Retiarius, and the Murmillo.

The Samnite had a short sword, a shield, and a helmet.

The Tharacian had a short curved sword, a helmet, armour down one arm and a small shield.

The Retiarius (which means net-man in Latin) had a net, trident, dagger, and a arm guard.

The Murmillo had a large shield, a short sword, and a arm guard.

A lot of money was spent on the games that should have been spent on the army or the building of better homes and other buildings. That is all about the Roman games.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s